Third Year Presentation

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 21.15.34

Today was the day of the presentation, the one thing that I have dreaded all year.

I was fully prepared this year though, as in previous years when I have done a presentation I have always struggled, mainly because I didn’t prepare enough and I couldn’t bring myself to practice to myself or to others. However, this year I decided to grit my teeth (not literally) and just get on with it!

I planned my presentation two weeks in advance, I started with a spider diagram which really helped as I literally had no idea where to start which then led on to arranging my presentation. Making a powerpoint was a good idea as it made me start my contact list and bibliography, so it was like doing two tasks in one – bonus!

I practiced my presentation to myself a couple of times and timed it on my iPhone, it came to 9.22 which was a good time as the limit was between 8-10 minutes. However, I did not find that presenting to myself helped me much as I did not feel under pressure and it became really informal and muddled up – and quite frankly, I felt like an idiot.

I then presented to my mum twice and then both my mum and step dad together, this was really helpful for me because they gave me feedback and a nod of approval now and then, which was really encouraging. Presenting to other people a few times gave me a lot more confidence and I didn’t feel too nervous today before my presentation which reduced stress and panic which came across in my presentation – well at least I think it did!

I am really pleased with the outcome today, I felt nervous at first and like I had a shake in my voice but that soon disappeared once I got going. I felt really pleased when the second years told me that they thought that mine was one of the best because I would never expect that, I feel really proud of myself and what I have been able to overcome, this is really going to help me in my future career, and it shows how much a degree has improved my confidence.

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 21.15.41

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 21.15.48

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 21.15.56Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 21.16.01

Leave a Reply

